default
Vincent van Gogh: Still Life: Drawing Board, Pipe, Onions and Sealing-Wax, 1889, Kröller-Müller Museum, Otterlo
*

Van Gogh: Still Lifes

October 26, 2019 until February 2, 2020

From his first paintings to the colorful flower images of his later career, Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890) repeatedly painted still lifes. In this genre, he could try out various media and alternatives – from depicting space using light and shadow to experiments with color. The first exhibition on this theme will present more than 20 paintings and use them to analyze the key stages in van Gogh’s life and work.

Van Gogh: Still Lifes is the first systematic exploration of this important theme in the artist’s work in an exhibition. Of the roughly 800 paintings that Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890) created during his ten-year career as an artist, some 170—about a fifth—are still lifes. It is therefore all the more remarkable that there has never been a monographic exhibition dedicated to the genre of the still life in Van Gogh’s work.

With exhibitions showcasing Henri-Edmond Cross and Pablo Picasso, the Museum Barberini launched a series dedicated to French modernist artists. Aspects of their work that have been neglected until now have been approached from new angles in international symposia held by the museum. In the autumn of 2019, the Museum Barberini will continue this series with the first exhibition of Vincent van Gogh’s still lifes. The carefully chosen selection of 25 paintings traces the development of the artist’s work from the earthy tones and simple everyday objects of the early paintings and the floral still lifes of his time in Paris to his radiant, exuberant southern motifs.

From his very first painting, Still Life with Cabbage and Clogs (Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam)—created at the end of 1881 in The Hague—to the vibrant floral works painted in Auvers-sur-Oise in 1890, during the last months of the artist’s life, for example Blossoming Chestnut Branches (Foundation E. H. Bührle, Zürich), Van Gogh returned to still lifes time and again. He did so not just because he thought that floral paintings were easier to sell and would not require him to spend money on models, but above all to explore new pictorial means and possibilities in this genre. He drew on the work of Dutch masters of the seventeenth century—initially Rembrandt, later Jan Davidsz de Heem—but also tried to capture the play of light and shade on the canvas and conducted experiments with color. His choice of ordinary household objects around 1884 marks a break with the tradition of Dutch still life painting.

Van Gogh: Still Lifes examines the artistic questions and decisive stages in Vincent van Gogh’s work and life. His still lifes reveal his response to impressionism, which he discovered in Paris between 1886 and 1888, but also show the influence of Japanese woodcuts. Many of his works are symbolically charged with personal references, from books to the recurring motif of a pair of shoes. His development towards an increasingly free, more vibrant handling of color, a central aspect of his work, can be reconstructed from his still lifes. In his letters, too, Van Gogh repeatedly stressed how crucial still lifes were for his artistic development, which shows the importance of this genre for his intensive self-reflection.

The exhibition at the Museum Barberini was developed in cooperation with the Kröller-Müller Museum in Otterlo and the Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam and is also supported by international loans from museums including the Art Institute of Chicago and the National Gallery of Art in Washington.

In preparation for the exhibition, the Museum Barberini held an international symposium on December 5, 2018. The proceedings will be published in the catalog accompanying the exhibition. Contributors include renowned Van Gogh scholars such as Sjaar van Heugten, Stefan Koldehoff, Eliza Rathbone, and Marije Vellekoop, as well as Oliver Tostmann, Michael F. Zimmermann, and Michael Philipp, chief curator of the Museum Barberini and curator of the exhibition. The exhibition catalog, to be published in German and English, will become the ninth volume in the Museum Barberini’s series of publications.

The exhibition is under the patronage of S.E. Wepke Kingsma, the ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to Germany.

default
Vincent van Gogh, Stillleben mit Zeichenbrett, Pfeife, Zwiebeln und Siegellack, 1889, Kröller-Müller Museum, Otterlo
*

Van Gogh. Stillleben

26. Oktober 2019 bis 2. Februar 2020

Von seinem ersten Gemälde bis zu den farbstarken Blumenbildern der späten Jahre hat Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890) immer wieder Stillleben gemalt. In diesem Genre konnte er malerische Mittel und Möglichkeiten erproben: von der Erfassung des Raums mit Licht und Schatten bis zum Experimentieren mit Farbe. Die erste Ausstellung zu diesem Thema analysiert anhand von über 20 Gemälden die entscheidenden Etappen im Werk und Leben van Goghs.

Die Ausstellung Van Gogh. Stillleben ist die erste systematische Würdigung dieses zentralen Themas in einer Ausstellung. Von den rund 800 Gemälden, die Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) während seines zehnjährigen künstlerischen Schaffens anfertigte, bilden die über 170 Stillleben etwa ein Fünftel. Umso erstaunlicher ist, dass sich bisher noch keine monographische Ausstellung der Gattung des Stilllebens bei Van Gogh gewidmet hat.

Das Museum Barberini in Potsdam hat mit Ausstellungen zu Henri-Edmond Cross und Pablo Picasso eine Reihe begonnen, die Künstlerinnen und Künstlern der Moderne in Frankreich gewidmet ist. Mit einer spezifischen Fragestellung und international besetzten Symposien werden bisher nicht behandelte Aspekte ihres Schaffens beleuchtet. Im Herbst 2019 zeigt das Museum Barberini die erste Ausstellung zum Genre des Stilllebens im Werk Vincent Van Goghs. Die konzentrierte Auswahl von 26 Gemälden zeichnet die Entwicklung seiner Malerei von den erdigen Tönen und den einfachen Alltagsgegenständen des Frühwerks über die Blumenstillleben seiner Zeit in Paris bis zu den lichten, energiegeladenen Motiven des Südens.

Seien es die ersten noch erhaltenen Gemälde, Stillleben mit Kohl und Holzschuhen (Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam) – entstanden Ende 1881 in Den Haag – oder die farbstarken Blumenbilder aus seinen letzten Lebensmonaten 1890 in Auvers-sur-Oise, etwa Blühende Kastanienzweige (Sammlung Bührle, Zürich), hat sich der Künstler immer wieder dem Genre des Stilllebens gewidmet. Dies unternahm er auch, aber keineswegs nur, weil er etwa Blumengemälde für leichter verkäuflich hielt und sich dabei das Geld für Modelle sparen konnte, sondern vor allem, weil er in diesem Genre die malerischen Mittel und Möglichkeiten erprobte: von der Vergewisserung der nieder­ländischen Tradition des 17. Jahrhunderts – zunächst an Rembrandt, später an Jan Davidsz de Heem orientiert – über die Erfassung des Raums mit Licht und Schatten bis zum Experimentieren mit der Farbe. Mit der Wahl unspektakulärer Alltagsgegenstände löste sich Van Gogh um 1884 von der repräsentativen Tradition der niederländischen Stilllebenmalerei.

Van Gogh. Stillleben thematisiert die künstlerischen Fragestellungen und vollzieht die entscheidenden werkgeschichtlichen und biographischen Etappen Vincent van Goghs nach. Seine Reaktion auf den Impressionismus, den er in Paris zwischen 1886 und 1888 kennenlernte, zeigt sich in den Stillleben ebenso wie seine Verarbeitung von Einflüssen japanischer Farbholzschnitte. Darüber hinaus sind viele dieser Werke mit persönlichen Bezügen symbolisch aufgeladen, von Stillleben mit Büchern bis zu den wiederholt gemalten Schuhen. Gerade die Entwicklung zu einem immer freieren, intensiveren Umgang mit Farbe, ein zentraler Moment seines Werks, lässt sich anhand der Stillleben rekonstruieren. Auch in seinen Briefen ging Van Gogh immer wieder auf die Bedeutung der Stillleben für die Entwicklung seines Œuvres ein, was die Bedeutung dieser Bildgattung für seine intensive Selbstreflexion belegt.

Die Ausstellung im Museum Barberini entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kröller-Müller Museum in Otterlo und dem Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam und wird darüber hinaus von internationalen Leihgebern wie dem Art Institute of Chicago und der National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. unterstützt.

Zur Vorbereitung der Ausstellung veranstaltete das Museum Barberini am 5. Dezember 2018 ein internationales Symposium. Die Ergebnisse der wissenschaftlichen Diskussion werden im Katalog zur Ausstellung veröffentlicht. Die Beiträge stammen von renommierten Van Gogh-Forschern wie Sjaar van Heugten, Stefan Koldehoff, Eliza Rathbone und Marije Vellekoop sowie von Oliver Tostmann, Michael Zimmermann und Michael Philipp, Chefkurator des Museums Barberini und Kurator der Ausstellung. Der Ausstellungskatalog erscheint als 9. Band in der Reihe der Publikationen des Museums Barberini in einer deutschsprachigen und einer englischsprachigen Ausgabe.

Die Ausstellung steht unter der Schirmherrschaft S.E. Wepke Kingsma, Botschafter des Königreichs der Niederlande in Deutschland.