default
© Museum Barberini, Potsdam & VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
*

March 9 to June 16, 2019

Picasso: The Late Work

From the collection of Jacqueline Picasso
Pablo Picasso (1881–1973) is famous for shaking up art in the 20th century, for resetting the bar in painting, sculpture, printmaking, and ceramics. Not so well-known are the last two decades in his career, when Picasso produced more portraits of his wife Jacqueline than of any other model. The exhibition Picasso: The Late Work shows just how innovative Picasso remained until the end of his life. All the loans are from the collection of Jacqueline Picasso (1927–1986). Her daughter Catherine Hutin granted permission for the Museum Barberini to show these items rarely seen in public. The selection by guest curator Bernardo Laniado-Romero includes many works that are being displayed in Germany for the first time, and a few that have never been presented in a museum before.

Unfortunately, for copyright reasons, photography in the Picasso exhibition is not permitted. Especially sharing pictures on social networks is not allowed.

Ortrud Westheider (director of the Museum Barberini), Bernardo Laniado-Romero (curator of the exhibition) and Valerie Hortolani (curator at the Museum Barberini) talk about the last 20 years in Picasso's life and his late work.

Ortrud Westheider (director of the Museum Barberini), Bernardo Laniado-Romero (curator of the exhibition) and Valerie Hortolani (curator at the Museum Barberini) talk about the last 20 years in Picasso's life and his late work.

About the Exhibition

About the Exhibition
Picasso: The late work

In May 1960, when Brassaï met Pablo Picasso again for the first time in almost fifteen years, he was hugely impressed by the artist’s recent work: “But never was I assaulted so brutally as in this villa of La Californie … Art and nature, creation and myth, knights and bullfighting, popular images, Olympus, Walpurgisnacht, all attract your attention … All these things begin to speak at once, competing with one another, pulling you right and left, knocking you over, skinning you alive, reducing you to raw nerves …” At the studio in Cannes, the photographer found himself surrounded by portraits of Picasso’s companion Jacqueline Roque. He could see sculptures and assemblages made of widely disparate materials. Sketches and works on paper using new techniques lay all around. The stylistic variety and the scale of these drafts no doubt contributed to his sense of being overwhelmed. Whereas Picasso’s output in the early years gave rise to distinctly different styles – the Blue Period quite unlike the Rose Period, the exploding shapes of Cubism unrelated to the closed contours of neo-Classicism –, the styles in Picasso’s late work form a synthesis. The media, too, merged: The graphic quality of a line became an expressive element in a painting. In the sculptures, painted surfaces unfold into space, straddling the boundaries between genres.

During the last two decades of his life, Picasso’s work took stock of his past. Revisiting his own œuvre, he picked up familiar themes and revitalized them, but he did so in light of current developments and often in dialogue with other artistic works – from the Old Masters to pop art. Picasso developed ideas initiated by Henri Matisse in his cut-outs. The death of his friend and colleague Matisse in November 1954 unleashed a keen interest in his themes – or, as Picasso put it: “When Matisse died, he left me his odalisques as a legacy.” Picasso returned to the sketches he had made in the 1940s in response to Eugène Delacroix’s painting . In one of the women portrayed by Delacroix, Picasso recognized Jacqueline, with whom he had recently begun a relationship. The following year, he moved into the villa of La Californie with her and her daughter, Catherine. Jacqueline served as his muse and prompted many of Picasso’s depictions of their home’s interior. The rocking chair, her favorite spot, stands in for her constant presence wherever Picasso was working.

Jacqueline Picasso inspired, orchestrated, and administered that overwhelming abundance in Picasso’s studio that Brassaï described. After Picasso’s death, she received an important part of his works when it was divided among his heirs. For the future Musée Picasso in Paris, the French state selected works from all of Picasso’s creative phases, showcasing the full array of his varied techniques. Works from the canonized periods of his oeuvre comprise the bulk of this collection. Picasso’s late work has been best preserved, both quantitatively and qualitatively, within the family – such as the Jacqueline Picasso Collection. It houses pieces which have rarely been seen in the original, although they are well known. They owe their reputation to widely circulated photographs taken by Lucien Clergue, David Douglas Duncan, and Edward Quinn, among others: Picasso and his wife in the studios at La Californie, in the workshop at Mougins to the north of Cannes, and at the family retreat of Château de Vauvenargues in Provence. While the paintings, drawings, sculptures, and ceramics chosen by the state after his death have been accessible to the public at the Musée Picasso in Paris since 1985 – and a representative selection of them were shown in Berlin in the 2005 exhibition Pablo: The Private Picasso, mounted by the city’s Neue Nationalgalerie – many of the treasures from the artist’s studios remained in the family’s possession.

“We are very much looking forward to Picasso in Potsdam! We wish to thank Catherine Hutin, Jacqueline Picasso’s daughter, for agreeing to part with 136 works for the exhibition Picasso: The Late Work. From the Collection of Jacqueline Picasso at the Museum Barberini. Apart from a few exceptions, these are on display in Germany for the first time,” says Ortrud Westheider, director of the Museum Barberini. “In addition to paintings, the exhibition brings together drawings, sculptures, ceremics, and prints, reflecting the creative range of Picasso’s late work. The premiere made possible by this generous loan from her collection illustrates the diversity and enduring topicality of Picasso’s output in the years from 1954 until 1973.”

Picasso’s break with cubism after the First World War puzzled the art world, for his new classicism ran counter to the triumphal march of abstraction. After World War II, which he survived in Nazi-occupied Paris, the artist rejuvenated his œuvre by experimenting with iron sculptures, monumental painting, ceramics, and print-making. In the 1950s and 1960s, Picasso was awarded numerous major commissions such as reliefs in Oslo and Barcelona, murals for the UNESCO building in Paris, a chapel in Vallauris, and the monumental steel sculpture at the Chicago Civic Center created in conjunction with the works on display in the exhibition.

The works for this show in Potsdam were chosen by guest curator, Bernardo Laniado-Romero, former director of the Picasso museums in Barcelona and Málaga, who was responsible for devising the concept, exhibition and catalog. His curatorial approach is to focus on investigating the artist within his own time, in the decades from the 1950s through the early 1970s. “Picasso continued to reinvent himself all his life. Juxtaposing works from different dates reveals the breadth of stylistic expression that makes this period as dynamic as any other,” comments Bernardo Laniado-Romero. “This exhibition offers for the first time the opportunity to see how Picasso moved towards a raw, loosely defined representation of the figure. It is but one indication of the metamorphosis that took place and of the creative energy manifested during the last years of his artistic career. Picasso’s production displays a strength and an inventiveness that the artist preserved until the very end.”
The exhibition is accompanied by a broad program of events and information with lectures, guided tours, concerts, and videos. The Museum Barberini will be working with the Berggruen Collection at the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin to focus on Picasso in Berlin and Potsdam.

The exhibition patron is the Ambassador of the Kingdom of Spain in Germany, H. E. Ricardo Martínez.

Picasso: The Later Years, 1954–1973

The late period of Pablo Picasso’s career (1881–1973) ran parallel to his relationship with Jacqueline Roque (1927–1986). Picasso met the twenty-seven-year-old Jacqueline in 1952, when she was working as a salesperson at the Madoura ceramics gallery in Vallauris in the south of France. They began a relationship in 1954, were married in 1961, and remained together until Picasso’s death. Over the course of these two decades Jacqueline became Picasso’s most important model. He portrayed her in hundreds of paintings and drawings.

In the summer of 1955 Jacqueline, Picasso, and Jacqueline’s daughter Catherine moved into the Villa La Californie in Cannes. Here, he set up studios and workshops, and produced two series of “interior landscapes”, inspired by the tall windows and ornamental stucco of the Art Nouveau-style rooms. Picasso’s decades-long friendship with Henri Matisse, who died in November 1954, also inspired these works.

Famous photographers such as David Douglas Duncan, Lee Miller, and Edward Quinn visited Picasso at La Californie, documenting his work and his private life with Jacqueline. In late 1958 Picasso purchased Chateau Vauvenargues near Aix-en-Provence. Although he brought most of his earlier work to Vauvenargues, he only resided there from time to time. In 1961 Picasso and Jacqueline moved into Notre-Dame-de-Vie in Mougins.

Picasso’s late work unfolded an intense dialogue with the works of masters he admired, such as Diego Velázquez, El Greco, Eugène Delacroix, Edgar Degas, and Édouard Manet. For example, he recognized Jacqueline’s features in one of the exotic odalisques in Delacroix’s nineteenth-century painting The Women of Algiers and created many of his own variations based on this historic painting.

Just as Picasso spent his entire lifetime developing new artistic processes, the late phase of his oeuvre is also characterized by the great pleasure he took in experimentation. The linocut is typical of the prints Picasso produced during this stage. In the field of sculpture, he began working with cut and folded sheet metal in 1954, and the new technique of betograve, a form of concrete engraving, in 1957. His work with ceramics, tapestry, engraving, printmaking, printing, bronze casting, or film transformed Picasso’s studios into lively workshops.

During the last two decades of his life, Picasso was honored in numerous exhibitions around the world and received large public art commissions. A monumental mural he painted for the UNESCO headquarters in Paris was unveiled in 1958, and he produced enormous steel sculptures and concrete reliefs in Norway (1957), Spain (1960/61), Sweden (1965), and the United States (1967). Three museums devoted to his work were opened during Picasso’s lifetime, in Vallauris (1959), Barcelona (1963), and Antibes (1966).

Picasso remained highly productive to the last. Besides his extensive production of prints, he made 175 paintings from January 1969 to February 1970 alone, for example. In 1970 an exhibition in the Palais des Papes in Avignon presented Picasso’s last works, in which he once again radically reinvented his painting style. He died on April 8, 1973, at the age of ninety-one.

Press Reviews

Selected views from the press

Berliner Morgenpost: “Spectacular insights into the late work of this artist of the century”

Berliner Zeitung: “Potsdam’s Barberini Museum has scored a coup with a big exhibition on Picasso’s late work”

BLAU /WELT: “And so to Potsdam, where the imaginative planners at the Museum Barberini pay fitting tribute to the late work ... this final pictorial foray opens with stupendous force ... The selection by guest curator Bernardo Laniado-Romero contains many works which will seem even to anyone who knows their Picasso to have come straight out of the studio. That this not so well-known collection has been lent to Potsdam is nothing less than a shining acknowledgement of the museum’s achievements”

Deutschlandfunk Kultur: “Jacqueline, Jacqueline, Jacqueline … the superb show can be read like a great romantic novel”

kulturradio: “This late Picasso has many new things to offer”

Märkische Allgemeine Zeitung: “Long underrated and rarely shown. Pablo Picasso’s late work. It can now be admired at the Museum Barberini”

rbb: “The exhibition of the year!”

rbb Fernsehen: “For two years now art treasures have been setting out for Potsdam and triggering minor mass migrations. The privately funded Museum Barberini has exerted a magnetic appeal ever since it opened. Monet, Gerhard Richter, Max Beckmann attracted long queues – and now Picasso!”

rbb Kultur - das Magazin: “A unique chance to experience the late Picasso”

Tagesspiegel: “A compelling exhibition in every respect”

Vogue: “Shows paintings by Picasso never seen before – and tells a moving love story”

ZDF: “For the Barberini’s opening exhibition, art lovers flocked to Potsdam by the hundreds of thousands. With Picasso the museum presents another public magnet … Dozens of portraits make Jaqueline Picasso the star of the show in Potsdam.”

default
© Museum Barberini, Potsdam & VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn
*

9. März bis 16. Juni 2019

Picasso. Das späte Werk

Aus der Sammlung Jacqueline Picasso

Pablo Picasso (1881–1973) gilt als Erneuerer der Kunst im 20. Jahrhundert. In Malerei, Skulptur, Graphik und Keramik hat er neue Maßstäbe gesetzt. Weniger bekannt ist sein Schaffen aus den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten seines Lebens, als Picasso von seiner Frau Jacqueline mehr Bildnisse schuf als je zuvor von einem anderen Modell. Die Ausstellung Picasso. Das späte Werk zeigt, wie Picasso auch in seinen letzten Schaffensjahren innovativ blieb. Alle Leihgaben stammen aus der Sammlung Jacqueline Picasso (1927– 1986). Ihre Tochter Catherine Hutin stellt diese bislang kaum öffentlich gezeigte Sammlung für die Ausstellung im Museum Barberini zur Verfügung. In der von Gastkurator Bernardo Laniado-Romero getroffenen Auswahl befinden sich zahlreiche Werke, die erstmalig in Deutschland gezeigt werden sowie einige, die zum ersten Mal in einem Museum präsentiert werden.

Aus Gründen des Urheberrechts ist das Photographieren in der Picasso-Ausstellung leider nicht gestattet. Insbesondere das Teilen von Bildern auf sozialen Netzwerken wie Facebook, Twitter oder Instagram ist leider nicht erlaubt.

Ortrud Westheider (Direktorin des Museum Barberini), Bernardo Laniado-Romero (Kurator der Ausstellung) und Valerie Hortolani (Kuratorin am Museum Barberini) sprechen über die letzten 20 Jahre in Picassos Leben und sein Spätwerk.

Ortrud Westheider (Direktorin des Museum Barberini), Bernardo Laniado-Romero (Kurator der Ausstellung) und Valerie Hortolani (Kuratorin am Museum Barberini) sprechen über die letzten 20 Jahre in Picassos Leben und sein Spätwerk.

Über die Ausstellung

Über die Ausstellung
Picasso. Das späte Werk

Als der Photograph Brassaï im Mai 1960 Picasso zum ersten Mal nach fast 15 Jahren wiedersah, machte ihm dessen neues Werk ungeheuren Eindruck: „So brutal aber wie in der Villa Californie bin ich noch nie überfallen worden … Kunst und Natur, Schöpfung und Mythos, Ritterturnier und Stierkampf, Märchenwelt, Olymp und Walpurgisnacht stürmen auf mich ein … Alles will gesehen werden, sich übertrumpfen, will gleichzeitig zu Wort kommen, zerrt an den Nerven, provoziert und überwältigt …“. Der Photograph sah sich im Atelier in Cannes umgeben von Portraits, die Picassos Lebensgefährtin Jacqueline Roque zeigen. Er sah Skulpturen und Assemblagen aus unterschiedlichsten Materialien. Überall lagen Skizzen und Papierarbeiten in neuen Techniken. Auch die stilistische Vielfalt und die Monumentalität der Entwürfe dürfte das Gefühl der Überwältigung hervorgerufen haben. Während Picassos Werk in seinen früheren Phasen stilistisch deutlich unterschieden war – so dass sich die Blaue von der Rosa Periode, der die Form sprengende Kubismus vom geschlossenen Kontur des Neoklassizismus abhebt –, bilden die Stile in Picassos spätem Werk eine Synthese. Zudem verschmelzen die Medien: Das graphische Element der Linie erscheint als Ausdrucksträger in der Malerei. In Skulpturen wiederum falten bemalte Flächen sich in den Raum und erzeugen auf diese Weise Grenzgänge zwischen den Gattungen.

Picassos Werk der letzten beiden Lebensjahrzehnte hält Rückschau. Revisionen des eigenen Werks nehmen bekannte Themen auf und erneuern sie. Doch geschieht dies vor dem Hintergrund aktueller Entwicklungen und vielfach im Dialog mit künstlerischen Werken – von den Alten Meistern bis zur Pop Art. Picasso entwickelte Verfahren weiter, die Henri Matisse in seinen Cut-outs begonnen hatte. Der Tod des Künstlerfreunds im November 1954 löste auch eine intensive Auseinandersetzung Picassos mit dessen Themen aus – oder, wie es Picasso zuspitzte: „Als Matisse starb, hinterließ er mir seine Odalisken.“ Picasso ging dafür zu den Skizzen zurück, die er bereits in den 1940er Jahren zu Eugène Delacroix’ Gemälde Die Frauen von Algier gemacht hatte. In einer der Odalisken Delacroix’ erkannte er Jacqueline wieder, mit der er in diesem Jahr eine Beziehung einging. Im folgenden Jahr zog er mit ihr und ihrer Tochter Catherine in die Villa La Californie. Jacqueline inspirierte Picasso zu zahlreichen Interieur-Darstellungen der Villa. Sie zeigen sie als Muse. Ihr Lieblingsplatz, der Schaukelstuhl, repräsentiert ihre Allgegenwart an Picassos Schaffensorten.

Jacqueline Picasso inspirierte, orchestrierte und verwaltete die überwältigende Fülle, die Brassaï in Picassos Atelier beschrieb. Sie erhielt nach Picassos Tod einen bedeutenden Teil seines Œuvres, als es unter den Erben aufgeteilt wurde. Für das neue Picasso Museum in Paris wählte der französische Staat aus Picassos Nachlass Werke aus allen Phasen und Techniken aus. Die kanonisierten Phasen des Œuvres nahmen dabei den größten Raum ein. Das späte Werk Picassos hat sich deshalb in Anzahl und Qualität bis heute am besten in den Sammlungen der Familie erhalten – so auch in der Sammlung Jacqueline Picasso. In dieser Sammlung befinden sich weithin bekannte Werke, die bislang kaum im Original zu sehen waren. Bekannt sind sie durch die berühmten Photographien von Lucien Clergue, David Douglas Duncan oder Edward Quinn: Picasso und seine Frau in den Ateliers der Villa La Californie, der Werkstatt in Mougins nördlich von Cannes und am Rückzugsort der Familie, Schloss Vauvenargues in der Provence. Während die Gemälde, Zeichnungen, Skulpturen und Keramik, die nach seinem Tod in Staatsbesitz übergingen, seit 1985 im Musée Picasso in Paris der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sind – und 2005 in einer repräsentativen Auswahl in der Ausstellung Pablo. Der private Picasso in der Neuen Nationalgalerie in Berlin zu sehen waren –, blieben weite Teile des Schatzes, den die Ateliers bargen, im Besitz der Familie.

„Wir freuen uns sehr auf Picasso in Potsdam! Unser Dank gilt Catherine Hutin, Tochter Jacqueline Picassos, die sich für die Ausstellung Picasso. Das späte Werk. Aus der Sammlung Jacqueline Picasso im Museum Barberini von 136 Arbeiten trennte, die bis auf wenige Ausnahmen zum ersten Mal in Deutschland zu sehen sein werden“, sagt Ortrud Westheider, Direktorin des Museum Barberini. „Die Ausstellung versammelt neben Gemälden Zeichnungen, Skulpturen, Keramik und Druckgraphik und zeigt das Gestaltungsspektrum im späten Werk Picassos. Mit dieser großzügigen Leihgabe ermöglicht sie erstmals, die Vielfalt und Aktualität von Picassos Schaffen in den Jahren 1954 bis 1973 mit den Werken ihrer Sammlung zu veranschaulichen.“

Schon Picassos Bruch mit dem Kubismus nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg irritierte die Kunstwelt, da sein neuer Klassizismus dem Weg einer fortschreitenden Abstraktion widersprach. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, den er im von den Nationalsozialisten besetzen Paris überstand, erneuerte der Künstler sein Werk durch Experimente in der Eisenskulptur, der Monumentalmalerei, der Keramik und in druckgraphischen Techniken. In den 1950er und 1960er Jahren wurde Picasso durch zahlreiche Großaufträge ausgezeichnet: Reliefs in Oslo und Barcelona, Wandbilder im Gebäude der UNESCO in Paris und einer Kapelle in Vallauris sowie die monumentale Stahlskulptur am Civic Center in Chicago entstanden in Zusammenhang mit den ausgestellten Werken.

Ausgewählt wurden die Werke der Potsdamer Schau von Bernardo Laniado-Romero, vormals Direktor der Picasso-Museen in Barcelona und Málaga, der als Gastkurator Konzept, Ausstellung und Katalog verantwortet. Sein kuratorischer Ansatz rückt die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Künstler von den 1950er bis zu den frühen 1970er Jahren in den Fokus – jene Zeit, in der in Paris die existentialistische Kunst des Informel, in New York der Abstrakte Expressionismus und schließlich in Reaktion darauf die Pop Art entstanden. „Picasso hat sich zeitlebens immer wieder neu erfunden. Sein spätes Werk zeugt von einer stilistischen Vielfalt, die diese Schaffensphase ebenso dynamisch macht wie die vorherigen“, erklärt Bernardo Laniado-Romero. „Diese Ausstellung lässt nachvollziehen, wie Picassos stetige künstlerische Metamorphose und Kreativität seine Karriere bis in die letzten Lebensjahre auszeichneten.“

Ein umfangreiches Veranstaltungs- und Vermittlungsprogramm mit Vorträgen, Führungen, Diskussionen, Konzerten und Filmen begleitet die Ausstellung. In gemeinsamen Veranstaltungen weisen die Sammlung Berggruen an den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin und das Museum Barberini auf Picasso in Berlin und Potsdam hin.

Die Ausstellung steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Botschafters des Königreichs Spanien in Deutschland, S. E. Ricardo Martínez.

Picasso. Die späten Jahre 1954–1973

Das Spätwerk Pablo Picassos (1881–1973) verlief zeitlich parallel zu seiner Beziehung mit Jacqueline Roque (1927–1986). 1952 hatte Picasso die 27-jährige Jacqueline kennengelernt, die als Verkäuferin in der Keramik-Galerie Madoura im südfranzösischen Vallauris arbeitete. 1954 gingen sie eine Beziehung ein und heirateten 1961. Bis zu Picassos Tod blieben sie ein Paar. Jacqueline wurde in diesen zwei Jahrzehnten zu Picassos wichtigstem Modell. Er portraitierte sie in Hunderten von Gemälden und Zeichnungen.

Im Sommer 1955 zogen Jacqueline und Picasso gemeinsam mit Jacquelines Tochter Catherine in die Villa La Californie in Cannes. Hier richtete er sich Ateliers und Werkstätten ein. Es entstanden zwei Serien „innerer Landschaften“, die von den hohen Fenstern und ornamentalen Stuckverzierungen der Jugendstil-Räume inspiriert sind. Auch Picassos jahrzehntelange Freundschaft zu Henri Matisse, der im November 1954 gestorben war, fand in diesen Werken einen Ausdruck.

Berühmte Photographen wie David Douglas Duncan, Lee Miller oder Edward Quinn besuchten Picasso in La Californie, dokumentierten seine Arbeit und sein privates Leben mit Jacqueline. Ende 1958 erwarb Picasso das Schloss Vauvenargues in der Nähe von Aix-en-Provence. Obwohl er große Teile seines früheren Werks nach Vauvenargues brachte, lebte und arbeitete er dort nur zeitweise. 1961 bezogen Picasso und Jacqueline das Landhaus Notre-Dame-de-Vie in Mougins.

In Picassos Spätwerk entfaltete sich ein intensiver Dialog mit den Werken von ihm verehrter Meister wie Diego Velázquez, El Greco, Eugène Delacroix, Edgar Degas oder Édouard Manet. Auf Delacroix’ Gemälde Die Frauen von Algier aus dem 19. Jahrhundert etwa erkannte er in einer der exotischen Odalisken Jacquelines Portrait wieder und transformierte das historische Vorbild in eigene Variationen.

So wie Picasso sein Leben lang neue künstlerische Verfahren entwickelt hatte, war auch sein spätes Schaffen von großer Experimentierfreude geprägt. In der Graphik ist der Linolschnitt für Picassos Spätwerk charakteristisch. In der Skulptur arbeitete er ab 1954 mit geschnittenem und gefaltetem Blech und ab 1957 mit der Technik der Betongravur. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Töpfern, Teppichwebern, Stechern, Druckern, Verlegern, Bronzegießern oder Filmemachern machte Picassos Ateliers zu lebhaften Werkstätten.

Während der letzten Jahrzehnte seines Lebens wurde Picasso mit zahlreichen Ausstellungen weltweit und Großaufträgen für den öffentlichen Raum geehrt. 1958 wurde am Sitz der UNESCO in Paris ein monumentales Wandbild von ihm eingeweiht, in Norwegen (1957), Spanien (1960/61), Schweden (1965) oder den USA (1967) schuf er monumentale Stahlskulpturen und Betonreliefs. Seinem Werk gewidmete Museen wurden zu Picassos Lebzeiten 1959 in Vallauris, 1963 in Barcelona und 1966 in Antibes eröffnet.

Picasso blieb bis zuletzt höchst produktiv. Neben umfangreichen graphischen Serien entstanden allein in der Zeit vom Januar 1969 bis Februar 1970 175 Gemälde. 1970 präsentierte eine Ausstellung im Papstpalast von Avignon Picassos neueste Werke, in denen er seine Malerei noch einmal radikal neu erfand. Er starb am 8. April 1973 im Alter von 91 Jahren.

Pressestimmen

Antenne Brandenburg: Ortrud Westheider, Direktorin des Museum Barberini, über die Ausstellung Picasso. Das späte Werk (Audio)

Berliner Morgenpost: „Spektakuläre Einblicke in das Spätwerk des Jahrhundertkünstlers“ (Artikel)

Berliner Zeitung: „Mit einer großen Ausstellung zu Picassos Spätwerk landet das Potsdamer Barberini-Museum einen Coup ... Ob farbsatte Landschaft, abstraktes Interieur, erotische Szenen – alles ist geprägt von einer immensen Arbeitswut“ (Artikel)

BLAU: „Auf nach Potsdam, wo das fantasievoll planende Museum Barberini dem Spätwerk den gebührenden Aufritt bereitet ... mit ungemeiner Wucht setzt diese letzte bildnerische Attacke ein ... In der von Gastkurator Bernardo Laniado-Romero getroffenen Auswahl befinden sich zahlreiche Werke, die auch dem Picasso-Kenner wie frisch aus dem Atelier vorkommen werden. Dass das wenig bekannte Konvolut nun nach Potsdam geliehen wird, ist nichts weniger als hohe Anerkennung der geleisteten Museumsarbeit“

B.Z.: „Es ist ein unfassbarer Schatz, den das Museum Barberini mit der großen Picasso-Schau präsentiert“

Deutsche Welle: Kuratorin Valerie Hortolani im Interview (Artikel)

Deutschlandfunk: Bericht über die Ausstellung (Audio)

Deutschlandfunk Kultur: „Jacqueline, Jacqueline, Jacqueline … man kann die fulminante Schau lesen wie einen großen Liebesroman … Ganz bewusst setzt das Museum Barberini der herkömmlichen Interpretation von Picassos Alterswerk als todesnah einen lebensbejahenden Aspekt entgegen“ (Audio)

Frankfurter Rundschau: „Bildnerische Ekstasen sind es allesamt, aggressive Rebellionen gegen das Unvermeidliche, auch die Wiederbelebung kindlich-narzisstischer Zustände, in denen Innen und Außen, Subjekt und Objekt, Tod und Geburt ineinander verschmelzen“

Focus: „Reife Leistung“

inforadio: „Es ist Picasso in all seiner Stilvielfalt… voll heiterer Leichtigkeit“ (Audio)

Kölnische Rundschau: „Das Spätwerk Picassos, diese bildnerischen Ekstasen, sind nicht denkbar ohne Jacqueline. Und ob farbsatte Landschaft, abstraktes Interieur, erotische Szene oder mal expressive, mal kubistisch zerlegter Frauenkopf – alles ist geprägt von einer immensen Arbeitswut, die sich in kraftvollen Rhythmen aus Zerstörung und Neubeginn gegen Zerfall und Tod, mit einem bis an die Zähne bewaffneten Eros dramatisch zur Wehr setzt“

kulturradio: „Dieser späte Picasso hat viel Neues zu bieten … man erlebt einen Picasso, der mit größter Freiheit alles mögliche ausprobiert und das offensichtlich über die Produktion von Meisterwerken stellt. Vielleicht ist das ein Aspekt, der so eben nur in einer derart privaten Sammlung zutage tritt“

Märkische Allgemeine Zeitung: „Lange unterschätzt und selten ausgestellt. Das Spätwerk von Pablo Picasso. Nun ist es im Museum Barberini zu bewundern“ (Artikel)

Potsdamer Neueste Nachrichten: Ortrud Westheider, Direktorin des Museum Barberini, im Interview

rbb: „Die Ausstellung des Jahres!“

rbb Fernsehen: „Seit zwei Jahren gehen Kunstschätze auf die Reise mit dem Ziel Potsdam und setzen kleine Völkerwanderungen in Bewegung. Das privat gestiftete Museum Barberini ist seit seiner Eröffnung ein Magnet. Monet, Gerhard Richter, Max Beckmann sorgten für lange Schlangen – und nun Picasso!“

rbb Kultur - das Magazin: "Eine einmalige Chance, den späten Picasso zu erleben" (Beitrag)

Tagesspiegel: „Picassos Alterswerk ist ein Sträuben gegen das Alter und das Verrinnen der Zeit. Dies aber nicht melancholisch oder gar larmoyant, sondern erfrischend vital … Ja, Picasso hat das Alter überlistet und zumindest in seiner Kunst sogar den Tod … eine in jeder Hinsicht überzeugende Ausstellung“ (Artikel)

Vogue: „Zeigt nie gesehene Gemälde von Picasso – und erzählt eine ergreifende Liebesgeschichte“ (Artikel)

ZDF: „Dutzende Porträts machen Jaqueline Picasso zum Star der Potsdamer Ausstellung.“ (Video)

zitty: "Sensationell, was das Museum Barberini an Werken für diese Ausstellung nach Potsdam holen konnte"