default
John Lund: Jasper Johns at Atelier, Photograph
*

Jasper Johns: The 100 Monotypes

February 29 – July 19, 2020

Jasper Johns (b. 1930) is one of the leading artists of American Pop art. Well-known for his large-format paintings in bright, vibrant colors, he was also a prolific printmaker, and his graphic work puts the peintre-graveur on a par with Goya and Picasso. On the occasion of his 90th birthday on May 15, 2020, the Museum Barberini will present his most recent series, The 100 Monotypes, originally created with the intention of accompanying his catalogue raisonné (Wildenstein Plattner Institute, 2017).

“Is it a flag, or is it a painting?” This was the question asked by the musician John Cage when Jasper Johns began to move abstract expressionism back to figuration in the 1950s by painting flags, numbers, targets, maps, and letters. Cage alluded to Johns’s blurring of the boundaries between reality and representation. Johns has also repeatedly addressed the dynamics of reproduction by experimenting with collage and repetition.

Since each print is unique, monotypes are more akin to painting than to printmaking. Reworking the same plates many times for The 100 Monotypes, Johns added an etched imprint of his hand and symbols of American Sign Language (ASL), as well as motifs that were important to him, such as string, stencils, and allusions to his own paintings and sculptures. The artist commented about this interaction in an interview: “I like to repeat an image in another medium to observe the play between the two: the image and the medium. In a sense, one does the same thing two ways and observes differences and sameness—the stress the image takes in different media. I can understand that someone else might find that boring and repetitious, but that’s not the way I see it. I enjoy working with such an idea.” Each monotype informs the next, thus forming part of a narrative chain that reflects Johns’s artistic practice as well as his oeuvre.

On May 3, 2020, 4 p.m., in an event that is part of the Berlin Gallery Weekend, Roberta Bernstein, author and director of the catalogue raisonné, will talk about Jasper Johns’s cycle The 100 Monotypes. To celebrate Jasper Johns’s 90th birthday on May 15, the Museum Barberini, in cooperation with the American Academy, will welcome Adam Weinberg, Director of the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, who will discuss Jasper Johns’s work as well as contemporary trends in American art in a talk entitled Jasper Johns and Beyond: Re-Viewing American Art in the 21st Century.

The exhibition is accompanied by a catalogue reproducing all 100 monotypes in large format, with an essay by Judith Goldman exploring the links between the Monotypes series and Johns’s printmaking. Jasper Johns: The 100 Monotypes will be published in the Barberini Studien series by Prestel Verlag.

default
John Lund: Jasper Johns im Atelier, Photographie
*

Jasper Johns. The 100 Monotypes

29. Februar bis 1. Juni 2020

Jasper Johns (*1930) gehört zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der amerikanischen Pop Art. Neben farbstarken, großformatigen Gemälden entstand im Lauf seines Lebens ein druckgraphisches Werk, das den Künstler als Peintre-Graveur in eine Reihe mit Goya und Picasso stellt. Anlässlich seines 90. Geburtstags am 15. Mai 2020 würdigt ihn das Museum Barberini mit der Präsentation seiner jüngsten Serie The 100 Monotypes, die begleitend zu seinem Werkverzeichnis (Wildenstein-Plattner Institut, 2017) entstanden ist.

Als Jasper Johns in den 1950er Jahren begann, den Abstrakten Expressionismus zurück zum Gegenständlichen zu führen, indem er Flaggen, Zahlen, Zielscheiben, Landkarten und Buchstaben malte, stellte der Musiker John Cage die Frage: „Is it a flag, or is it a painting“? Mit dieser Bemerkung zielte er auf Johns Vexierspiel von Wirklichkeit und Abbild. Immer wieder hat Johns mithilfe des Collageverfahrens und Wiederholungen auch Reproduzierbarkeit thematisiert.

Monotypien sind Originale und stehen der Malerei somit näher als der Druckgraphik. Für The 100 Monotypes arbeitete Johns mit dem Abdruck seiner Hand und Symbolen der amerikanischen Gebärdensprache und verwandte dieselbe Platte für 100 unterschiedliche Drucke, bei denen er für ihn wichtige Motive wie Schnüre, Schablonen und Blätter und Verweise auf eigene Gemälde und Skulpturen hinzufügte. Über diese Wechselbeziehungen äußerte sich der Künstler in einem Interview: „Ich wiederhole gerne ein Bild in einem anderen Medium, um das Spiel zwischen den beiden zu beobachten: das Bild und das Medium. In gewisser Weise macht man dasselbe auf zwei Arten und beobachtet Unterschiede und Gleichheit – die Belastungsprobe, die das Bild in verschiedenen Medien auf sich nimmt.“ Jede Monotypie ist Ausgangpunkt für die nächste und somit Teil einer Erzählkette, die den Prozess von Johns künstlerischem Schaffen ebenso wie sein Lebenswerk widerspiegelt.

Am 3. Mai 2020, 16 Uhr, im Rahmen des Berlin Gallery Weekends, spricht Roberta Bernstein, Bearbeiterin des Werkverzeichnisses, über Jasper Johns Zyklus The 100 Monotypes. Am 15. Mai feiert das Museum Barberini in Kooperation mit der American Academy den 90. Geburtstag von Jasper Johns‘ mit einem Vortrag von Adam Weinberg, dem Direktor des Whitney Museums of American Art in New York. Unter dem Titel Jasper Johns and Beyond: Re-Viewing American Art in the 21st Century wird Weinberg einen aktuellen Blick auf die amerikanische Kunstgeschichte werfen.

Zur Präsentation erscheint in der Reihe der Barberini Studien Jasper Johns. The 100 Monotypes im Prestel Verlag. Neben großformatigen Abbildungen aller 100 Monotypien beinhaltet der Katalog einen Essay von Judith Goldman, der die Werkreihe im druckgraphischen Œuvre des Künstlers verortet.